Veterans / Service Members / Spouses

Active Military or Veterans

Active military and veterans (as defined in Chapter 55 of the Texas Occupations Code) currently licensed in another state are exempt from the application fee of $150 (the jurisprudence exam fee charged by the NBEO must still be paid).

State law allows active military and veterans (as defined in the statue) to request an expedited licensing process if the applicant is currently licensed in another state or was licensed in Texas within the last five years. See Board Rule 273.14.

Please know that military/veteran applicants are not exempt from the required initial licensing fee once the application is approved.

Spouse of Active Military

Chapter 55 of the Texas Occupations Code allows the spouse of an active military service member to request an expedited licensing process if the spouse (applicant) is currently licensed in another state or was licensed in Texas within the last five years. See Board Rule 273.14.

A military spouse licensed in another jurisdiction is exempt from the application fee of $150 (the jurisprudence exam fee charged by the NBEO must still be paid).

Active Military/Veteran/Military Spouse Application

Contact the Board for any additional information.