Welcome to the starting point for information about Texas Optometry Board requirements and helpful practice information. You may also navigate to these pages using the pull down menus at the top of each page.

Address Changes

State law requires all licensees to notify the Board within 30 days of any address change — home or office. Changes are accepted by telephone (512-305-8500), mail or e-mail.


All licensed optometrists are required to have a criminal background check in order to receive or maintain a license. Licensees who have not been fingerprinted previously for TOB or who have recently gone from inactive to active will also need the background check requirement this year. Click for instructions.

Renew License

To begin the renewal process, read the License Renewal Instructions here.

License Certificate

24 hours after successfully renewing a license, the updated renewal certificate can be printed here.

Main Information Page

This page has information on a variety of topics, such as ADA requirements, consent to treat minors, reporting requirements for suspected child abuse, patient record retention requirements, Medicaid / Medicare enrollment, and many others. Information Topics.

Addiction / Mental Impairment

The Board subscribes to a program that provides a confidential pathway to the treatment of addiction and mental health issues the may affect the doctor’s practice of optometry. Addiction and Mental Health Help.


Information covering prescription requirements for drugs, contacts and glasses. Also information on obtaining a DEA permit. Prescription Requirements.


The Board publishes a Newsletter once a year on this website. Every licensee will want to read the short newsletter to stay current with legal requirements, including new rules and laws. Newsletters.

Continuing Education

These pages provide information on the annual continuing education requirements, including links to courses approved by the Board. Continuing Education.

License Verification

License verification for another state, or for any reason: To obtain an official verification of a license, mail a request to the Board with $40.00 payment (check only).

Law and Rules

The practice of optometry is regulated by the Texas Optometry Act and the Rules adopted by the Board.

Optometric Glaucoma Specialist

Application forms and practice information.